Club sponsor:

To advertise on this
website, please
email us here
First team report  

Sat 5th Nov 2016
Spartan South Midlands Premier Division
Sponsored by Liam Ahern
TAFC First team 1-2 Edgware Town

TAFC goals: George Carbery

It had to happen sometime that our brilliant unbeaten run would come to an end but shame it had to be in such a cruel way with a last minute own goal. The run lasted nearly three months in which we went 18 games without defeat, winning 13 and drawing 5. We scored 33 goals, conceded just 15 and kept 6 clean sheets. In recognition of our superb efforts we were awarded the Premier Division Team of the Month for October.

As for the game it would be an understatement to say that we were unlucky, even an Edgware supporter tweeted that it had been a smash and grab raid. After an even first half the visitors opened the scoring in the 57th minute when Adam Wallace headed home a good cross from Elias Moses. Score 0-1.

But from then on we battered them and only some profligacy by us in front of goal and some outstanding saves from keeper Cain Davies prevented us from winning.

We did manage to get an equaliser in the 86th minute when a cross from Ryan Sturges and a neat header from Adam Scotcher set up George Carbery who converted from the 6 yard box. Score 1-1.

Further saves from the keeper stopped us from going on and claiming a deserved victory but disaster struck in the 91st minute when we conceded an own goal. Score 1-2.

There was still time for Davies to make another great save to make sure it wasn't going to be our day. FT Score 1-2.

Very disappointing to see our good run come to an end especially when it was against the run of play but that shouldn't detract from the fact that our young team have done superbly well over the past 3 months.


TA: 1 Jack Hopwood 2 Tommy Twelves 3 Chris Mason 4 George Brinkman 5 Jack Seaton 6 Lessa Boka (14 Chris Stapleton) 7 Ryan Sturges (Capt) 8 Luke Dunstan 9 Adam Scotcher 10 George Carbery 11 Aaron Nash-Baker (15 Lanre Ladipo). Subs not used: 12 Paddy Downes 16 James Banfield.

ET: 1 Cain Davies 2 Dan Pett 3 Elias Moses 4 Fergus Moore 5 Ishmael Thomas 6 Paul Marks 7 Adem Ali (14 Neiko James) 8 George McCluskey 9 Javonne Molloy 10 Jack Smith (15 Harry Smart) 11 Adam Wallace. Subs not used: 12 Alfie Hill 16 Fabio Valenti 17 Darren Bonfield.


TA: George Carbery (86)

ET: Adam Wallace (57), Own Goal (90+1)

Crowd: 95